School Board SBMRWtheme2014

The New Albany and Union County School Districts will join districts across the state to thank school board members during School Board Member Recognition Week, February 16-22, for their leadership and service to local school districts and communities.

“This week is a special opportunity to express our gratitude for the hard work of our school board members and to thank them for their dedication to this community and its children,” said Jackie Ford, Superintendent of New Albany Schools.

More than 750 Mississippians are members of local school boards. The board members who serve on school boards are responsible for setting the vision and goals for the district. They work to provide a quality education for PreK-12th grade students.  The school board also hires quality educators, sets district goals, adopts policies and evaluates progress while keeping the interests of our students first. They also serve as the community’s voice in the school district and the district’s voice in the community.

“As school leaders, board members play an important role in engaging our community in supporting our public schools,” said Ken Basil, Superintendent of Union County Schools.

During School Board Member Recognition Week in Mississippi, the New Albany and Union County School Districts invite students, staff and community members and the general public to take part in honoring board members.

New Albany School Board Members are:  Bernice Bailey, Bobby Gault, Jerry Tate, Brad Clayton, Jill Shaw, and Fred Rogers.

Union County School Board Members are:  Daphnia McMillen, Terry Cook, Mickey Basil, Mike Browning, and Wayne Mahon.